Rome, Day Twenty-Four

All vacations lead to Rome, our final destination before home. We left Florence this afternoon for Rome, a short 1.5 hour train ride. We took a Eurostar, which are much faster, and rode first class. I’d hate to think of what second class would be like, cause it was the most uncomfortable train ride yet (well, that I sat for… smelly, snoring guy made the other one more uncomfortable I suppose, but, then again, it’s not like we were sharing a bed). The seats were fancy enough, with electronic adjustability. But then they added headrests, supposedly for comfort. Unfortunately, these things jut out from the seat, and felt like concrete. So your head is pushed forward for the whole ride.

Other than that, and getting lost a couple times, today has been good. Our hotel is two minutes away from the train station, so that was nice. The train station is part of a big mall, so we did some shopping. I’ve decided that I’m not that interested in reading On the Road right now, or the other book I bought in Verona, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Maybe if I’d read Kerouac earlier in the trip I’d be interested, but right now, the last thing I’m interested in is reading about a neverending trip. I already feel like I’ve been on one, and am ready for it to stop. So I bought new books that will take us through to home. I’ll read more of On the Road at another time in my life, I think.

After freshening up at our hotel, we headed out to see Rome. A little late to actually go into anything, but we like checking out the town without an agenda when we first get there. The first stop was the Colosseum for gazing, pictures, and dinner. We walked around there a bit til we got to San Giovanni Laterno, then took the Metro to go see Trevi Fountain. I got turned around a few times getting there, making us walk more than necessary, but the weather was nice so it wasn’t too bad.

Everything looked nice, but I’m getting a bit tired of all the crowds. Florence was the worst for that yesterday. We headed out to see the David at the Academie, only to see a line around the block. We skipped it to go to the Uffizi, only to see a lineup that had to be 2 hours long just to get in. Maybe it’s just me, but no museum is worth waiting 2 hours to see. If I wait that long to see Botticelli’s Birth of Venus, then I want the experience to roughly resemble what it would feel like to receive oral sex from a choir of angels. Needless to say, we skipped it. Instead, we saw a science museum with 18th and 19th century instruments, and Santa Croce Cathedral, home to the tombs of Michelangelo, Dante, Machiavelli, and Galileo. We eventually did wait twenty minutes or so to see the David. By the time we got in, I was so hungry that I didn’t care to see anything else but the David– which is impressive.

Everything closes around 6:30 pm, so there’s not much else to do with your night other than eat (unless you’re of the party persuasion). We found a theatre showing an English version of The Da Vinci Code and watched that to help kill the night. Review to follow, but I will say that it was neat to see a bunch of Paris stuff that we had visited last week.

Two more days of braving the crowds, which should be insane at Vatican City tomorrow. Oh well, the Saints pretty much have to go there.

GO OILERS! (Have they lost since I started signing out that way?)

Leave a Reply

