POST #36: Top 5 Tegan and Sara songs, number one

The moment you've all been waiting for! Or, at least one of you has.

I started this list at 10 in the morning, meaning that I stretched one list into fourteen hours of anticipation! Genius!

#1 “My Number” from This Business of Art
Another Tegan song! All but number five were Tegan songs, which I guess tells me that she’s my favourite of two. She’s also the sexier one, whereas Sara is the cuter one (although, it’s kinda like talking about who’s the oldest twin. The difference isn’t big enough to be statistically significant). I first heard this song from their performance on Last Night with David Letterman (which I downloaded) and instantly fell in love with it. It’s got a fantastic structure, building in intensity until it crescendos in the final chorus. My favourite lyric is “He grabs me by the hand, and drags me to the shore and said ‘maybe you don’t love me, but you’ll grow to love me even more'”. One of their longest tracks, and most percussively impressive with a great assist from the piano. It is an atypical song for the duo, with a darker tone and tempo and pulsating sense of urgency. If you only listen to one Tegan and Sara song, let this be it (of course, if after listening to this track, you’re not interested in hearing other Tegan and Sara songs after that… then we can’t be friends).

Leave a Reply

