POST #46: Favourite Albums of 2006 Thus Far

I’ll be honest, I haven’t been embracing 2006 albums as much as I’d like. Too busy with older stuff of late. But there are a few that have caught my attention, so I thought I’d share them here.

Belle and Sebastian – The Life Pursuit
Probably my favourite album of the year so far. Possibly the group’s best work to date.

The Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
So much fun. About as much fun as you’d think a record by a band with “Monkeys” in their name would be.

The Stills – Without Feathers
Saw them perform this live before the album came out. It’s pretty solid in its own right, if not as good as their debut.

Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Show Your Bones
I don’t like it as much as Fever to Tell but am coming around to the new sound and recognise it as worth my time.

Gnarls Barkley – St. Elsewhere
THE hip-hop album of the year for people not much into hip-hop. “Crazy” is THE song of the summer.

Jenny Lewis and the Watson Twins – Rabbit Furcoat
Not as good as any of Rilo Kiley’s albums, but a worthwhile side project.

Morrissey – Ringleader of the Tormentors
A transition record for Moz that shows a bit of an optimistic streak mixed in with the standard pessimism.

Johnny Cash – American V: A Hundred Highways
If you liked the other American records, then you’ll like this one too.

Leave a Reply

