POST #28: Top 5 Songs of the Half-Decade – Number One

My wife can listen to this while reading 'God is not Great'.

1. “Jesus Walks” by Kanye West from The College Dropout (2004)
I didn’t set out to make it this way, but I guess the best songs of the early decade came out either in 2002 or 2004. I’m not particularly religious man, yet I love this song (stranger still is that my non-religious wife loves it too, as does my athiest sister). By making a song to praise God, Kanye created a song more ambitious, more epic, and more complex than most everything put out not only in the world of hip-hop, but also in pop music in general. Kanye swung for the fences with this track, backing it with a persistent martial beat, middle eastern sitars, a chorus of children, gospel background vocals, and earnest vocals, allowing it to be an undeniable song even for those who might not share his spiritual views.

Sample lyric: “But if I talk about God my record won’t get played, huh?/
Well if this take away from my spins/
Which will probably take away from my ends/
Then I hope this take away from my sins/
And bring the day that I’m dreaming about/
Next time I’m in the club everybody screaming out…
Jesus Walks”

Honourable Mentions: “Maps” by Yeah Yeah Yeahs, “My Number” by Tegan and Sara, “Lola Stars and Stripes” by The Stills, “Mushaboom” by Feist, “NYC” by Interpol, “Take Me Out” by Franz Ferdinand

Leave a Reply

