POST #40: Music DVDs

Are any of you fans of music DVDs? I have some myself, for Death Cab for Cutie, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Tegan and Sara, and The Decemberists, along with the classic Bob Dylan documentary Don’t Look Back, which I picked up for four bucks a month or so back (and found painfully boring). I’m not sure what I think about them in general. Concert DVDs are often hastily thrown together and even the best home entertainment centre can’t capture the magic of seeing a live show. Even something as great as Jonathan Demme‘s Neil Young: Heart of Gold has limited replay value.

I’m bringing this up because I’m finally getting around to watching The Decemberists DVD A Practical Handbook that I bought a few months ago. I was excited to get it, since I’m not all that confident I’ll ever get a chance to see them live and had heard some great things about their stage show. So far, the music sounds great, but there’s nothing so mindblowing that watching it on television truly captures my attention.

I think there’s greater value in documentary-style music DVDs. There’s a doc as a special feature on this disc, so hopefully that’ll hold some value. I’m just not sure if music DVDs are that interesting an avenue of entertainment. I’ll probably still buy the odd one for my favourite bands, since I like supporting them, but I don’t think I’ll get too into them.

Hope bout you all? Any love for the concert DVD? Any I should check out?

Leave a Reply

