Coke Zero Man’s League Update… Update… Update

If you recall, earlier this month I mentioned that I had gotten an e-mail read in the ESPN Fantasy Focus Football Edition Podcast, which led the host to proclaim “I hate Andy from Calgary”. This resulted in them asking me to join the Coke Zero Man’s League, a 16-team fantasy football league they created in an effort to embarrass and shame their producer Jay Soderberg, since he plays in a small, 8-team fantasy baseball league (and because embarrassing and shaming Jay is their most favourite thing to do).

So they wanted to see how Jay would do in a deep league, and set up a 16 team listener’s league (which is a really deep fantasy football league. Standard sizes for fantasy football leagues are generally 10-12 teams), filling the other 15 spots with listeners who e-mailed in to be a part of the podcast. One of the 15 listeners (dubbed “Crazy Guy”) subsequently started being a jerk on the message boards, and was hurting the league’s competitive balance by giving away his players in terrible trades. So they kicked him out, rescinding his last trade in the process, then eventually offered me his spot in the league. I accepted the offer mostly to be a part of the show, since I knew his roster was terrible and that it’s difficult to improve a roster in a league that deep (not that I haven’t been trying).

They routinely give updates on the progress of the league throughout the week on the podcast, giving the one host (the Talented Mr. Roto, Matthew Berry) plenty of opportunity to call me “Stupid Andy from Calgary”, since my e-mail disagreed with his opinion. Since the other host (Nate Ravitz) agrees with my opinion, he countered by calling me “Sage-like Andy”, which quickly morphed to “Horine-like Andy”, with “Horine” being the last name of their boss (Mark Horine), and thus becoming a synonym for “sage”. “Horine-like Andy” has become my nickname (accept to Matt, who gets upset when he hears that and continues to call me “Stupid Andy”).

A continuing bit they do on the show is that they chat with whoever is playing Jay during the week before and after the weekend. Sadly, the hosts were away last Thursday, so I didn’t get my pre-game interview as I played Jay this past weekend. But they did call me up today to discuss the horrible 122-59 defeat I suffered at the hands of Pod Vader (Soderberg’s nickname), making it my international podcast debut.

To listen to my appearance on the show, go here: http://sports.espn.go.com/espnradio/podcast/archive?id=2942325 and play or download the podcast for 10/30. My segment comes up at the 21:20 mark. Behold my witty repartee.

Leave a Reply

