Winter Movie Season 2009

It’s time to look ahead at the upcoming movie releases to see which ones are on my radar to go see. However, given that this is the time of year that studios dump out the crap they didn’t have faith in for the back end of the previous year, I generally use this time to look back at the supposed 2008 releases that I haven’t seen yet, usually because they haven’t actually been released except for a few theatres in NY and LA. I’ll also take a look at the January to March slate of releases, but I don’t there will be many offerings worth my time.

2008 releases I’m still hoping to go see

Ranked in order of how much I want to see them:
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button – This one did open wide on Christmas Day, I just haven’t gotten around to it. And because it’s a big budget, wide release that’s been doing well at the box office, I’ll probably put it off a bit longer, simply because I’m confident that it will stick around in theatres a little longer than the titles below it on the list. Still, it’s the one I want to see the most.

Let the Right One In – A Swedish horror film that’s been getting fantastic reviews, you know it has to be something special given that horror is a genre most critics (and, well, myself) usually dismiss. Obviously the foreign element gives it more cred, but I’m just hoping for awesomeness. This has been playing in town for a couple weeks, so I want to see it soon before it’s gone.

Doubt – This has also been here a couple weeks, and thus I worry that it will be gone soon. If I go to a movie in the next week, it’ll probably be to see this or the above instead of Benjamin Button (just as I went to go see Milk on Friday). Then Button next week.

Wendy and Lucy – Not sure when or even if this will reach Calgary theatres, but I’m already prepared to love it if/when it comes.

Frost/Nixon – I’m not exactly sure why a studio picture directed by Ron Howard is getting such a slow release, but I’m guessing it has something to do with the fact that it stars Frank Langhella and Michael Sheen. I won’t blame you if you’re saying to yourself: who?

Revolutionary Road – I bet this doesn’t get here until the end of the month, but I’m willing to wait.

The Reader – This is also in Calgary right now, but hasn’t gotten the best reviews, and thus has fallen down the list. Still, Kate Winslet has given me some reason to want to see it, and not just the fact that she might get an Oscar nomination for it.

Gran Torino – It’s tough to say if this has buzz because it’s legitimately good, or if it’s just because everyone loves Clint Eastwood. But I’m willing to find out.

Defiance – An Oscar-hopeful also-ran in a December full of Nazis, this doesn’t have a lot going for it. But, Edward Zwick is probably my favourite middlebrow director, a man incapable of greatness, but usually capable of Very Good-ness, so I might take this in.

Waltz with Bashir – I had tickets for this at TIFF, but went to a Blue Jays game instead. It’s started to look like a lock for both Animated and Foreign Film Oscar nominations, so if we get it, I’ll go see it this time.

And now for the new releases…
January
Not a damn thing.

February 13
The International – Not too excited for this one, as it looks like a typical early-year dump. But I’ll pay attention to it because of Clive Owen and Naomi Watts.

February 20
Youth in Revolt – Don’t know much about this one, other than it won’t get released wide in February, but I’ll keep an eye out for Michael Cera’s latest.

March 6
Watchmen – If it actually comes out, this will be my most anticipated film of 2009. If it doesn’t… FUCK YOU FOX!

March 20
Duplicity – Another action/thriller starring Clive Owen, this time directed by Tony Gilroy, and co-starring Julia Roberts (which isn’t exactly a positive).

I Love You, Man – An Apatowian comedy detailing the courtship and bromance of Jason Segal and Paul Rudd? Count me in.

March 27
Monsters vs. Aliens – I wrote in my Bolt review that if you have a chance to see a 3D movie in theatres, you should take it. I’m avoiding that advice with My Bloody Valentine 3D, so I’ll take it here.

AdventurelandSuperbad director Greg Mottola’s follow-up, moving on from high school to post-high school adventures sounds interesting.

In total, that’s 17 movies, a few of which I’m merely listing as ones to keep my eye on. Still, I hope to knock at least half of these off in time for my year end best of list and Andy Movie Awards. Hopefully the weather will cooperate.

2 thoughts on “Winter Movie Season 2009

  1. Pingback: Spring Movie Season 2009 « Critically Speaking

Leave a Reply

