The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards

Since I don't have actual hardware, I'll pretend the Andy TV Awards look like this

Since I don't have actual hardware, I'll pretend the Andy TV Awards look like this

I wrote what was probably my final Andy Movie Awards post earlier this year since I no longer have the time to see all the movies I used to, which is unfortunate. The bright side is that I have a lot more time to watch TV, leaving me more prepared for this year’s edition of the Andy TV Awards, just in time for the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences to increase the amount of nominees to six per acting category and seven per best show award. To recap, the Andy Awards are my way of not only picking out the best in each field, but also the nominees. Too many posts around award time waste time picking from the group of flawed choices that the various award shows present. I’d rather pick from the best. Plus, it basically gives me a chance to post a series of lists, and I loves me some lists.

This year, I’ve decided to do something different. Instead of conflating the whole “show” into one post that’s too long for most readers and ends up getting shorter the closer I get to the big “awards”, I’ve decided to split it up into five different posts (after this introductory post), that I’ll post in the coming days. Hopefully, this will give me more room to expound on my thoughts on the various nominees and winners, and have the side benefit of giving this blog some much-needed new content. So keep checking back for posts for the Best Supporting Actress awards (Comedy and Drama), Best Supporting Actor awards (Comedy and Drama), Best Leading Actress awards (Comedy and Drama), Best Leading Actor awards (Comedy and Drama), and Best Show (Comedy and Drama).

Here’s the ground rules: to qualify for nomination, a show must have aired most of its season, including its season finale, in the 12 months between May 31st, 2008 and May 31st, 2009. Unlike the Emmys, I base my decisions based on the entire season of a show, not single episodes (except in a few cases where I struggled to fill a category out). I used the Emmy ballot to decide which category a performer or a show belongs to, so if they submitted themselves for a supporting category even if they’re a co-lead, that’s where I considered them (same goes for the drama/comedy split). And while I watch a whole lot of television, I don’t watch everything so here’s a list of some critically acclaimed shows that I don’t watch, and thus were left off my ballot: Battlestar Galactica, House, The Big Bang Theory (I’ve seen season one, but not two), Chuck, and anything from the UK. Shows that aren’t necessarily acclaimed (but did get some Emmy nominations) that I don’t watch include 24, Two and a Half Men, The Mentalist, Family Guy, Boston Legal, Monk, and most of the shows that scored Best Actress nominees.

Related Reviews:
The Third Annual Andy TV Awards (2008)
The Second Annual Andy TV Awards (2007)
Andy’s TV Awards (2006)
Top 10 TV Shows of 2008
Top 10 TV Episodes of 2008

9 thoughts on “The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards

  1. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Supporting Actress « Critically Speaking

  2. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Supporting Actor « Critically Speaking

  3. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Supporting Actor « Critically Speaking

  4. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Leading Actress « Critically Speaking

  5. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Leading Actor « Critically Speaking

  6. Pingback: The Fourth Annual Andy TV Awards – Best Shows « Critically Speaking

  7. Pingback: The Fifth Annual Andy TV Awards « Critically Speaking

Leave a Reply

