Top 25 Films of the Decade: An Introduction


I’ve listed the decade’s best albums and best TV shows, so if you think I’m about to let a little thing like being the middle of May 2010 stop me from listing the best movies of the decade, you clearly haven’t been paying attention. The list is late for the same reasons all my lists have been late: new baby, busy at work, blah, blah, blah. But additionally, when I decided to do this list, I put together a list of candidates, and then re-watched all of them. So that took some time on its own. It was also what made the process of putting together this list fun. Probably more fun than any of the others, because who wouldn’t have fun reliving their favourite things?

I watched more movies this past decade than I did for the other two combined, and became more of a film lover as a result. So these aren’t just my top films of this decade, they’re also largely my top films ever (which probably also suggests that I should spend more time watching older movies). But what do I mean by “top”? Well, it’s some arbitrary mix between “best” and “favourite”, while factoring in rewatchability, with a pinch of pop cultural significance thrown in. The rewatchability factor ended up excluding documentaries completely, while limiting foreign films to one representative, which I suppose makes me look a little unrefined, but I’ll have to live with myself.

I’m going to do something a little different with this list. As it seems like the simple matter of separating the list into five titles at a time can still take me weeks to write, I’m going to go ahead and post these one at a time. Hopefully, the thought of writing up only one movie for a post will feel less daunting, and allow me to post in a more timely fashion. That said, if this takes me to the end of the year, so be it. I can think of worse ways to spend my time here.

The posts will be structured as follows: the introductory section will be spoiler-free, so if you haven’t seen the movie yet, feel free to read that and let me convince you to go see it. The rest will be clearly labelled specifics, which will contain spoilers, so you may want to skip that if you want to remain spoiler-free for a movie that could be ten years old now.

So look for those posts in the coming days/weeks/months/whatever. For now, I’ll start with the honourable mentions: Shaun of the Dead, Finding Nemo, Memento, The Royal Tenenbaums, 28 Days Later

4 thoughts on “Top 25 Films of the Decade: An Introduction

  1. Here’s mine, from 1 – 25:
    The Dark Knight (2008)
    The Incredibles (2004)
    Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang (2005)
    The 40 Year-Old Virgin (2005)
    High Fidelity (2000)
    Almost Famous (2000)
    Big Fish (2003)
    WALL-E (2008)
    The King of Kong (2007)
    The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)

    Amélie (2001)
    Lilo & Stitch (2002)
    Ocean’s Eleven (2001)
    The Bourne Ultimatum (2007)
    O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)
    In Bruges (2008)
    Spirited Away (2001)
    Brick (2006)
    The Hurt Locker (2009)
    Synecdoche, New York (2008)

    Bad Santa (2003)
    Serenity (2005)
    Little Miss Sunshine (2006)
    Definitely, Maybe (2008)
    Once (2007)

  2. Pingback: Top 25 Films of the Decade – The Full List « Critically Speaking

  3. Pingback: #12: Children of Men – Top 25 Films of the Decade « Critically Speaking

Leave a Reply

