Top 25 Films of the Decade – The Full List

It’s now 2011, and the ridiculousness of me still counting down the best of the previous decade is not lost on me. I began this list back in May of 2010, and while I expected it to take me awhile to complete, I didn’t expect to take me this long. I have 12 entries left to write-up, but at my current pace, I probably wouldn’t finish until 2012 (which, of course, is when the world will end).

So while it pains me to admit defeat, I’m going to go ahead and post the rest of my list, presented without comment. Annoyingly, this means I spent my time writing up the bottom of the list, leaving my favourite films uncommented on. But on the off-chance there are any followers of this blog that are still interested in how this list shapes up, I felt I had to go ahead and end the suspense. However, I still have some intention to write-up the final 12 at some point, but now I won’t be tied down to the order. So if I’m feeling particularly inspired to write-up any of the remaining 12, maybe I’ll just go ahead and do so even if it’s not the next one up. Or, if there’s one that you think demands explanation, leave a comment and perhaps I’ll answer it in full post form.

Either way, now that it’s all posted, I’d love to read your feedback. What’s missing? Which inclusion do you find most surprising? Where did I get the order wrong? What was your top film of the decade?

Honourable Mentions: Shaun of the Dead, Finding Nemo, Memento, The Royal Tenenbaums, 28 Days Later
25. Up (2009)
24. The Hurt Locker (2009)
23. Lost in Translation (2003)
22. The Bourne Supremacy (2004)
21. The Bourne Identity (2002)
20. Serenity (2005)
19. Ocean’s Eleven (2001)
18. The Bourne Ultimatum (2007)
17. Brokeback Mountain (2005)
16. Hot Fuzz (2007)
15. Munich (2005)
14. Pan’s Labyrinth (2006)
13. There Will Be Blood (2007)
12. Children of Men (2006)
11. Zodiac (2007)
10. The Departed (2006)
9. Before Sunset (2004)
8. WALL-E (2008)
7. High Fidelity (2000)
6. United 93 (2006)
5. The Dark Knight (2008)
4. No Country for Old Men (2007)
3. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
2. The Incredibles (2004)
1. Almost Famous (2000)

5 thoughts on “Top 25 Films of the Decade – The Full List

  1. I will say that there’s nothing on your list that doesn’t deserve to be talked about when it comes to the best movies of the first decade of the 2000s. I wonder how much our love for High Fidelity is sentimental or actual, though. I believe I had The Dark Knight at #1 on my list, but I could see everything you’ve listed as being in contention for my own list. However, I will say that I think There Will Be Blood would have leapfrogged a tonne of things on my list after re-watching it last night.

    • In terms of quality, HIGH FIDELITY is definitely the most questionable on the list, but it is easily one of my personal favourites. My top ten was designed to best reflect my personal favourites, since the only reason people would want to read a list of some dude’s movie selections is in the hope that it would say something about the dude.

      THERE WILL BE BLOOD moved up each time I watched it, to the degree that even when I was writing it up, I felt that I probably should’ve bumped it up again (a tension I think is pretty evident in the post itself). But, the top ten (with one notable exception – UNITED 93) are all films I’ve rewatched many, many times, a distinction TWBB has yet to achieve (but it’s getting there).

    • Not for the decade there won’t. I’m putting the first ten years of this century in my rearview mirror (other than maybe, possibly, hopefully finishing the outstanding pieces of this list).

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Movies of 2010 « Critically Speaking

Leave a Reply

