My Blu-ray Collection – Family Films

I’ve decided to split out my family films from my blu-ray collection listing, both to shorten the posts up and to reflect the division I’ve made in the organization of the actual discs themselves. As the father of a little boy, this is easily the fastest growing segment of my blu-ray collection, because sometimes, you just want the little buggers to sit still for an hour or so (don’t worry, I also read to him and stuff).

Fidelity-wise, these are among the best blu-rays in my collection. Disney, who produced the majority of the films I own, are either the best blu-ray distribution house out there, or they’re a close second to Criterion. Of course, the Pixar transfers are amazing, with the full digital process used to make them. But equally impressive are the remastered versions of 60 year old classics, which are completely revitalized by the format. Films that had previously degraded to dull and murky on previous formats really pop on blu-ray. If you’re looking for reference material for you system, or a great argument for the format in general, look no further than the titles on this page (except for The Fox and the Hound, which is an insult to the format).

As an added bonus, most of these collections are BRD/DVD combo packs, which is excellent if you want to also keep your kid quiet in a room with a TV without blu-ray capabilities (I take him out to play all the time, I swear!).


Alice in Wonderland (1951)


Babe (1995)


Bambi (1942)


Beauty and the Beast (1991)


Bolt (2008)


A Bug’s Life (1998)


Cars (2006)


Cinderella (1950)


Coraline (2009)


Dinosaur (2000)


Dumbo (1941)


Enchanted (2007)


Fantasia (1940) / Fantasia 2000 (1999)


Fantastic Mr. Fox (2009)


The Fox and the Hound (1981) and The Fox and the Hound II (2006)


Gnomeo & Juliet (2011)


The Great Mouse Detective (1986)


How to Train Your Dragon (2010)


The Incredibles (2004)


Kung Fu Panda (2008)


Kung Fu Panda 2 (2011)


Lady and the Tramp (1955)


The Lion King 3D (1994)


Monster House (2006)


Monsters, Inc. (2001)


The Muppets Take Manhattan (1984)


Pinocchio (1940)


Pixar Short Films Collection – Volume 1 (2007)


Pocahontas (1995)


The Princess and the Frog (2009)


Puss in Boots (2011)


Ratatouille (2007)


Rio (2011)


The Secret World of Arrietty (2012)


Sleeping Beauty (1959)


Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937)


Tangled 3D (2010)


Tinker Bell (2008)


Toy Story (1995)


Toy Story 2 (1999)


Toy Story 3 (2010)


Up (2009)


WALL•E (2008)


Wallace & Gromit: The Complete Collection (1989-2010)


Winnie the Pooh (2011)

Click here to view the rest my Films on Blu-ray Collection
Click here to view my TV on Blu-ray Collection

5 thoughts on “My Blu-ray Collection – Family Films

  1. Pingback: My Blu-ray Collection « Critically Speaking

  2. Pingback: My Blu-ray Collection « Critically Speaking

  3. Pingback: My TV on Blu-ray Collection « Critically Speaking

  4. After watching the restored Sleeping Beauty, I am curious to see some of the other older films. Hopefully next time I’m visiting the boy will want to watch Snow White or Alice in Wonderland!

    • ALICE is one of his favourites, so it shouldn’t be difficult to convince him to watch that. I’d also say it’s the most impressive of the catalogue titles, due to the fantastic use of colour throughout. SNOW WHITE you’ll just have to select for him, as I think he’s only watched it a couple times.

Leave a Reply

